Get Business Card

Return to AndHow Arts Home Page

Return to beginning Sound Page

Go to Composition by Date Menu

Go to Compositions Menu Listed Alphabetically


I: In Memoriam, II: Metanoia-1987


Music by: Andrew Thomas
text by: I: Sir Walter Raleigh
II: William Shakespeare

Information through: Get a Business Card

I: In Memoriam

Give me my scallop-shell of quiet
My staff of faith to walk upon,
My scrip of joy, immortal diet,
My bottle of salvation,
My gown of glory, hope's true gage,
And thus I'll take my pilgrimage.

Raleigh -from The Passionate Man's Pilgrimage

II: Metanoia

Poor soul, the center of my sinful earth,
My sinful earth these rebel powers array,
Why dost thou pine within and suffer dearth,
Painting thy outward walls so costly gay?
Why so large cost, having so short a lease,
Dost thou upon thy fading mansion spend?
Shall worms, inheritors of this excess,
Eat up thy charge? Is this thy body's end?
Then soul, live thou upon thy servant's loss,
And let that pine to aggravate thy store;
Buy terms divine in selling hours of dross;
Within be fed, without be rich no more;
So shalt thou feed on Death, that feeds on men,
And Death, once dead, there's no more dying then.

Shakespeare -Sonnet 20

Sir Walter Raleigh (1552-1618)
William Shakespeare (1564-1616)

The first movement of this work, In Memoriam, is a theme with variations composed in memory of two friends, the composer John Watts, 1930-1982, and Robert Rinker, M.D. 1942-1982. I wrote the music in 1982 and it was premiered by the ensemble, Musical Elements, Daniel Asia conducting. In 1987 I returned to this score feeling that something had been left unsaid, some spiritual debt unexpressed earlier. Therefore in the present version of the score I have revised and slightly expanded the music, and I have added a second movement that is a response to and continuation of the thoughts of the first. Metanoia, the title of the second movement, is a Greek word meaning repentance. The term does not carry the meanings of sin or regret. Instead, it describes a turn-around, a complete change of direction that results from confronting the spirit within. In this sense, the second movement is about the on-goingness of life, the release of loss and grief, and the acceptance of joy.
October 12, 1988


Premiere: 1988 The Shreveport Symphony, Peter Leonard, Conductor