Get Business Card

Return to AndHow Arts Home Page

Return to beginning Sound Page

Go to Composition by Date Menu

Go to Compositions Menu Listed Alphabetically


O Lamm Gottes, unschuldig-1986

(flute, oboe, clarinet, horn, bassoon, & piano)

Music by: Andrew Thomas
text by: Nicolaus Rostock

Copyright © 1986

Information through: Get a Business Card

Johann Sebastian Bach   BWV 618

O Lamm Gottes, unschuldig

Chorale Text German:
Verses 1. and 2.
O Lamm Gottes, unschuldig,
am Stamm des Kreuzes geschlachtet,
Allzeit erfund'n geduldig,
Wie wohl du warest verachtet;
All Sünd hast du getragen,
sonst müssten wir verzagen.
Erbarm dich unser, o Jesu!

Verse 3.
Gib uns deinen Frieden o Jesu!
-- 1531

Chorale Text English:
Verses 1. and 2.
O Lamb of God all holy,
Who on the Cross didst sufer,
And patient still and lowly,
Thyself to scorn didst offer:
Our sins by Thee were taken,
Or hope had us forsaken:
Have mercy upon us, o Jesu.

Verse 3.
Have mercy upon us, O Jesu.

Nicolaus Rostock (1500s)

I composed O Lamm Gottes, unschuldig several years ago for James Jeter and The Virtuosi Quintet. The form of the work is a set of variations in Chorale-Prelude style. The chorale, from the Saint Matthew Passion, is present throughout the music, sometimes overtly, sometimes hidden. The score, like the chorale, is tender and, at times, bittersweet.


Premiere: 1986 NYC, The Virtuosi Quintet