Get Business Card

Return to AndHow Arts Home Page

Return to beginning Sound Page

Go to Composition by Date Menu

Go to Compositions Menu Listed Alphabetically

Dances for Five Cover Design


Dances for Five-1983

(flute, clarinet, marimba, percussion, & bass)


Music by: Andrew Thomas

Copyright © PAu3-033-319

Published through: Get a Business Card

Instrument list:

‘Dances for Five‘ is based upon the composer’s research of rhythms and dances from the African country of Ghana.

It is for quintet playing a set of five dances each titled:
I) Greeting dance
2) Centering dance
3) Rain dance
4) Battle dance
5) Last dance

Dedicated to:The New York Quintet (NY5)

William Moersch, marimba
Keith Underwood, flute
James McElwaine, clarinet
Dennis Masuzzo, bass
Jonathan Haas, percussion

Premiere: November 3, 1983 Peabody Conservatory of Music in Baltimore, MD. - The New York Quintet (NY5)
And: November 4, 1983 at the Percussive Arts Society International Convention in the Knoxville Convention Center in Knoxville, TN - The New York Quintet (NY5)
November 7, 1983 at Symphony Space in New York, NY - The New York Quintet (NY5)